November 9, 2008

Trading for Holliday?

So the rumor mill is going crazy with a potential trade for the Rockies' Matt Holliday. The latest deal I have heard is Ludwick, Schumaker, and Boggs for Matt Holliday. Right away I will say that I think acquiring Holliday is awesome and I am on board as long as the deal is right, but in this case the deal is not right. I am very much against this trade. The Cardinals have holes in the middle infield, starting pitching, and left-handed relief pitching. We have about 20-30 million to cover these holes which shouldn't be that big of a problem, honestly. Trading for Holliday, however, requires us to release Ludwick, Schumaker, and Boggs' combined salaries(411,000+arbitration for Ludwick, 400,000 for Schumaker, and a minor league deal for Boggs) for one year of Matt Holliday at 13.5 million dollars. Looking at our budget as an optimistic 30 million dollars, that still eats more than a third of our budget for a position that was already covered. Not to mention, to make the trade worthwhile we will have to sign Holliday to an extenstion. This is already impossible due to Holliday being represented by Boras, notorious for frowning upon extensions. Even if we do somehow sign Holliday to an extension, it would probably be comparable, if not higher than Carlos Lee's 6 year 100 million dollar contract signed in 2007. This would require paying Holliday more than Pujols and could also cut into our ability to resign Pujols when his contract expires. Basically, the only positive to this deal is adding a hitter with a solid reputation to hit behind Pujols and clearing up a roster spot for Colby Rasmus, but at the same time you add payroll in an area that you aren't upgrading that much. While this year could have been a fluke for Ludwick, Holliday's home/away splits are hard to ignore. I think we could conceivably extend Ludwick and take a chance that he has put it all together than overpay for Holliday to give us an .803 on-base percentage(his career average away from Coors) instead of the 1.068 that he puts up in Colorado.

As far as my personal ideas for this off-season, I would suggest trading Kennedy for anything at all, moving Ankiel or Ludwick for relief help (like Kevin Gregg, Huston Street, or likewise), signing two of Felipe Lopez, Marcus Giles, or Nick Punto to play second base and shortstop, and utilizing our minor league system to fill bench spots or leftover bullpen slots.

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

Agreeeeed!!!

Random story time: I remember Kennedy when he was on the Angels back in 05. Called him "caveman" because his hat brim is so flat, it makes a shadow across his brow and gives the illusion of a unibrow. Never shook that image, even when he came to the Cards. Has he not been good for you guys? I always liked him...

K-Rod, on the other hand, I called him "twitchy" because he was always trying to pick people *scottie* off first. Still dont like him...

I've decided that I don't want Ankiel or Ludwick as much as i did before. both slowish power hitters, and we've got enough of those. plus, kenny'll never take ankiel - didn't he use steroids? We don't take those on the south side. too much pride.

I wouldn't mind punto either. he's very good. hell, anybody out of the pirahna's (sp?) system is good. if you decide to give up talks with him, tell his agent to call us.

my quiet desire is to get the rox's atkins. but im afraid if i wish too hard, it may not happen...

Anonymous said...

GRRRR...I did wish too loudly!!

"Meanwhile, the Twins and Indians -- who have young pitching -- are atop the wish list for third baseman Garrett Atkins, and the Rockies are dangling center fielder Willy Taveras and reportedly have asked for White Sox pitcher Lance Broadway."

The Twinks shall not get him!!! I decree it! And I really dont want willy t, he's not as awesome as i would desire. and i like broadway too much. that deal may happen though, it makes too much sense.